‘Fathers be good to your daughters, And daughters will love like you do’

I recently read this article about the former CEO of Pimco; last year Mohamed El-Erian asked his daughter to do a simple task (such as brushing her teeth),and she responded with  ‘no’.  When asked why, she handed him a list of 22 events that he had missed while he was busy working- ranging from the first day of school to a Halloween parade.  The CEO ended up resigning to spend more time with his family.  A common question you get while in college is, ‘What do your parents do?’  Whenever I would tell someone what my dad did, I instantly got the follow up question, ‘Was he gone a lot?’  My first response to this question is to laugh, and then I explain why.  My dad was actually home a TON growing up; much more than other dads. I can’t even begin to count the number of times he walked me to school or brought me lunch. Before school got “important”, he would sometimes surprise me by pulling me out of school for the afternoon to go see a movie or go to the Auto Show.  He was always the one who took me back to school shopping.  He was the one who taught me how to play basketball and coached my team.  We went on Daddy-Daughter trips to places like New York, Chicago, San Diego and Vegas.  I’m sure he missed events of mine when I was little, but I cannot recall a single one. Thank you dad.

IMG_0383_2

Love Always,

Amy Elizabeth 

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, My Favorites

Leave a Reply

