Goodbye NYC

Goodbye

I’ve ‘traveled’ all my life, a week here, a few days there… But not two months.  Some of y’all might not know, but yesterday I wrapped up a two month internship with a Fashion Public Relations firm in NYC. Two months in New York, now that will change you.  I went from not knowing which subway to take to get to my apt to being able to go to Vogue’s office without an address or map. I learned the art of how to get through a subway turnstile carrying a purse, garment bag and two shopping bags. I became very quick at figuring out which direction was north, south, east and west when exiting the subway. More importantly though, I learned about me.  I quickly learned that when everyone you know is over 1500 miles away, you can’t rely on people, but only on God. I learned that I can be just as content in a 300 square foot ‘studio’, than a 1,000 square foot apartment. I learned that it’s okay to take time for yourself and spend time by yourself.  I learned that sometimes, when everything seems to go wrong you just have to laugh (like carrying 21 pieces of clothes from the dry cleaners when it starts to pour down rain, not having a hand available to hold an umbrella and wearing a white shirt). And I learned that if you fully surrender to God, he will place you exactly where you need to be, doing exactly what you should be doing.

IMG_7300

“Every story has an end, but in life, every ending is just a new beginning.” 
IMG_7834Love Always,

Amy Elizabeth

1 Comment

Filed under Life, New York City, Quote of the Day, Travel

One response to “Goodbye NYC

  1. Pingback: Quote of the Day//Goodbye NYC | Breathtakingly Beautiful

Leave a Reply

