Big City Office Fashion

IMG_0041_2

While securing an internship in New York is definitely a HUGE blessing, now comes time for the craziness of preparing for it!  With housing almost secured, clothing is next; I was told I need to be dressed, “Professional while expressing your personal style.” Also, since New York is basically all walking, I need shoes that are comfortable, yet professional and fashionable. The task of doing this becomes even more difficult when 1) You live in College Station which is not the shopping mecca of the world and 2) You’re on  a budget.  Here are some of my favorite finds so far that are affordable, fashionable, professional and functional!

Express: (Minus The) Leather Trimmed Fit and Flare Skirt- $49.90

Express Skirt

This skirt is exactly what I was searching for; it’s the perfect combination of a simple black skirt, with the edginess of the leather.  Paired with black pumps and a blouse it is a great find!

Payless: Comfort Plus Women’s Karmen Pumps in Black Patent- $19.99 

Black Pumps

Yes… I do realize I’m posting a link to heels from Payless on a fashion blog, BUT you can’t judge until you try them!  Before my interviews last month, I needed black pumps, couldn’t spend tons of money, and was sort of in a rush, so when I found these for $20 I jumped on it.  Let me just tell you, I walked around NYC for 4 HOURS in these things, and while my feet did hurt by the end, I would challenge you to find heels you could successfully navigate New York in for 4 hours.

J.Crew Stretch Perfect Shirt in Fresh Mint- $72

Jcrew Top

I have almost this exact shirt from J. Crew and love how versatile it is.  You can wear it tucked into slacks with a cute belt or with a skirt and a statement necklace.  It’s definitely professional, yet you can put your own twist on it- and the color is so fun!

Butterfly Twists: Quilted Olivia Ballerina Shoes- $35

Flats

Let me tell you about these flats: they are AMAZING!  Usually flats aren’t comfortable for me, but I live in these!  When my supervisor told me to bring a pair of comfy shoes to work for when I have to go run errands, I instantly knew that I needed to buy a few more pairs.  The best part?  They fold up, so they can easily be thrown in a purse!

Love Always,

Amy Elizabeth

Leave a comment

Filed under New York City, What to Wear

Leave a Reply

